MIT/CTP Nuclear/Particle Seminar

Fall 2016

Organizing Committee: Phiala Shanahan, Yotam Soreq, Tracy Slatyer, Jesse Thaler

Google Doc

Speaker Title Host Email
Sep 12, 2016 Jakub Scholtz (Harvard) ? Yotam? jscholtz [at] physics.harvard.edu
Sep 19, 2016 Falko Dulat (SLAC) ? HuaXing? dulatf [at] slac.stanford.edu
Sep 26, 2016 Paulo Bedaque (Maryland) ? Zohreh? bedaque [at] umd.edu
Oct 3, 2016 Yong Zhao (MIT) ? Phiala? yongzhao1018 [at] gmail.com
Oct 10, 2016 :!: Columbus Day Holiday
Oct 17, 2016 Reserved (TBA) ? TBA TBA [at] TBA.edu
Oct 24, 2016 Yi Yin (MIT) ? Wilke? phyyin [at] gmail.com
Oct 31, 2016 Urs Wiedemann (CERN) ? Krishna? Urs.Wiedemann [at] cern.ch
Nov 7, 2016 Ilias Cholis (Johns Hopkins) ? Tracy? icholis1 [at] jhu.edu
Nov 14, 2016 Stefan Prestel (SLAC) ? Jesse prestel [at] slac.stanford.edu
Nov 21, 2016 Tien-Tien Yu (Stony Brook) ? Wei? chiu-tien.yu [at] stonybrook.edu
Nov 28, 2016 Juan Rojo (Oxford) ? Iain juan.rojo [at] physics.ox.ac.uk.edu
Dec 5, 2016 Tim Cohen (Oregon) ? Ben? tcohen [at] uoregon.edu
Dec 12, 2016 Andreas Kronfeld (Fermilab) ? Will? ask [at] fnal.gov

Spring 2016

Organizing Committee: Ben Safdi, Phiala Shanahan, Tracy Slatyer, Jesse Thaler, Wei Xue

Google Doc

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 8, 2016 Rod Crewther (Adelaide) ? Phiala rodney.crewther [at] adelaide.edu.au
Feb 15, 2016 :!: Presidents' Day
(Tues) Feb 16, 2016 Simon Caron-Huot (Niels Bohr Institute) ? Hong schuot [at] nbi.ku.dk
Feb 22, 2016 Esra Bulbul (MIT) ? Tracy ebulbul [at] mit.edu
Feb 29, 2016 Daniele Bertolini (Berkeley) ? Iain dbertolini [at] lbl.gov
Mar 7, 2016 Martin Schmaltz (BU) ? Jesse schmaltz [at] buphy.bu.edu
Mar 14, 2016 Josh Ruderman (NYU) ? Yotam ruderman [at] nyu.edu
Mar 21, 2016 :!: Spring Break
Mar 28, 2016 Daniele Alves (NYU) ? Ben spier [at] nyu.edu
Apr 4, 2016 Prateek Agrawal (Harvard) ? Tracy prateekagrawal [at] physics.harvard.edu
Apr 11, 2016 Paul Romatschke (Colorado) ? Wilke paul.romatschke [at] colorado.edu
Apr 18, 2016 :!: Patriots Day
Apr 25, 2016 Eder Izaguirre (Perimeter) ? Wei eizaguirre [at] perimeterinstitute.ca
May 2, 2016 Ran Zhou (Fermilab) ? Will zhouran [at] fnal.gov
May 9, 2016 Xu Feng (Columbia) ? Will xf2131 [at] columbia.edu

Fall 2015

Organizing Committee: Ben Safdi, Phiala Shanahan, Tracy Slatyer, Jesse Thaler, Wei Xue

In order to accommodate faculty teaching schedules, particle-focused talks will run 1:30-2:30pm while nuclear-focused talks will run 2-3pm.

Google Doc

Speaker Title Host Email
Sept 14, 2015 (1:30pm) Jamie Gainer (U. Florida) New Techniques for New Physics Discoveries in Run 2 at the LHC Tracy jgainer [at] ufl.edu
Sept 21, 2015 (2:00pm) Dani Pablos (Barcelona/MIT) Krishna dpablos [at] ecm.ub.es
Sept 28, 2015 (1:30pm) Kohta Murase (Penn State) Ben murase [at] psu.edu
Oct 5, 2015 (1:30pm) JiJi Fan (Brown) Ben jiji_fan [at] brown.edu
Oct 12, 2015 :!: Columbus Day
(Tues) Oct 13, 2015 (2:00pm) Martin Savage (Washington) Will mjs5 [at] u.washington.edu
Oct 19, 2015 (1:30pm) Simon Caron-Huot (Niels Bohr Institute) Duff schuot [at] nbi.ku.dk
Oct 26, 2015 (1:30pm) Francesco D’Eramo (Santa Cruz) Krishna fraderamo [at] berkeley.edu
Nov 2, 2015 (1:30pm) Masha Baryakhtar (Perimeter) Tracy mbaryakh [at] stanford.edu
Nov 9, 2015 (1:30pm) Raffaele Tito D’Agnolo (IAS) Ben dagnolo [at] ias.edu
Nov 16, 2015 (2:00pm) Martin Hoferichter (Darmstadt) Zohreh hoferichter [at] theorie.ikp.physik.tu-darmstadt.de
Nov 23, 2015 (1:30pm) Cliff Cheung (Caltech) Gilly? clifford.cheung [at] caltech.edu
Nov 30, 2015 (2:00pm) Aleksi Kurkela (CERN) Krishna a.k [at] cern.ch
Dec 7, 2015 (1:30pm) Ciaran Williams (Buffalo) Duff? ciaranwi [at] buffalo.edu

Spring 2015

Organizing Committee: Zohreh Davoudi, Gilly Elor, Tracy Slatyer, Jesse Thaler, Wilke van der Schee

Google Doc

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 9, 2015 Mina Arvanitaki (Perimeter) Wati aarvanitaki [at] perimeterinstitute.ca
Feb 16, 2015 :!: President's Day
(Tuesday) Feb 17, 2015 Gustavo Marques Tavares (BU) Jesse gusmt [at] buphy.bu.edu
Feb 23, 2015 Achim Schwenk (TU Darmstadt) Will schwenk [at] theorie.ikp.physik.tu-darmstadt.de
Mar 2, 2015 Simone Marzani (MIT) Jesse smarzani [at] mit.edu
Mar 9, 2015 Tongyan Lin (UChicago) Tracy tongyan [at] kicp.uchicago.edu
Mar 16, 2015 Raul Briceno (JLab) Zohreh rbriceno [at] jlab.org
Mar 23, 2015 :!: Spring Break
Mar 30, 2015 Soeren Schlichting (BNL) Wilke sschlichting [at] bnl.gov
Apr 6, 2015 Yang Bai (Wisconsin) Gilly yangbai [at] physics.wisc.edu
Apr 13, 2015 Michal Heller (Perimeter) Wilke mheller [at] perimeterinstitute.ca
Apr 20, 2015 :!: Patriot's Day
Apr 27, 2015 Matthew Dolan (SLAC) Simone mdolan [at] slac.stanford.edu
May 4, 2015 Mikhail Solon (LBL) Duff mpsolon [at] lbl.gov
May 11, 2015 Kfir Blum (IAS) Tracy kblum [at] ias.edu

Fall 2014

Organizing Committee: Zohreh Davoudi, Gilly Elor, Tracy Slatyer, Jesse Thaler, Wilke van der Schee

Google Doc

Speaker Title Host Email
Sept 8, 2014 Peter Petreczky (Brookhaven) Will petreczk [at] quark.phy.bnl.gov
Sept 15, 2014 Sergei Dubovsky (NYU) Jesse sergei.dubovsky [at] gmail.com
Sept 22, 2014 William Shepherd (Santa Cruz) Tracy will.shepherd [at] gmail.com
Sept 29, 2014 Jessie Shelton (Illinois) Tracy jshelton137 [at] gmail.com
Oct 6, 2014 Anson Hook (IAS) Jesse hook [at] ias.edu
Oct 13, 2014 :!: Columbus Day
Oct 20, 2014 Gerald Dunne (UConn) Will dunne [at] phys.uconn.edu
Oct 27, 2014 Misha Stephanov (UIC) Wilke misha [at] uic.edu
Nov 3, 2014 Patrick Meade (Stony Brook) Jesse patrick.meade [at] stonybrook.edu
Nov 10, 2014 :!: Veterans Day
Nov 17, 2014 Yonit Hochberg (Berkeley) Tracy yonit.hochberg [at] berkeley.edu
Nov 24, 2014 Aleksey Cherman (UMinn) Krishna acherman [at] umn.edu
Dec 1, 2014 Tim Lou (Princeton) Tracy hlou [at] princeton.edu
Dec 8, 2014 Tigran Kalaydzhyan (Stony Brook) Krishna tigran.kalaydzhyan [at] stonybrook.edu

Spring 2014

Organizing Committee: Andrew Larkoski, Duff Neill, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 10, 2014 Jean-Yves Ollitrault (Saclay) Large Anisotropies in the Little Bang ? jean-yves.ollitrault [at] cea.fr
Feb 17, 2014 :!: Presidents Day
(Tues) Feb 18, 2014 Grigory Ovanesyan (UMass) :?: ? ovanesyan [at] umass.edu
Feb 24, 2014 Jonathan Walsh (Berkeley) :?: ? jwalsh [at] lbl.gov
Mar 3, 2014 Alberto Nicolis (Columbia) :?: ? a.nicolis [at] columbia.edu
Mar 10, 2014 Matt Strassler (Harvard) :?: ? strassler [at] physics.harvard.edu
Mar 17, 2014 Liam Fitzpatrick (Stanford) :?: ? fitzpatr [at] stanford.edu
Mar 24, 2014 :!: Spring Break
Mar 31, 2014 ? (?) :?: ? ?
Apr 7, 2014 Aneesh Manohar (UCSD) :?: ? amanohar [at] physics.ucsd.edu
Apr 14, 2014 David Simmons-Duffin (IAS) :?: ? dsd [at] ias.edu
Apr 21, 2014 :!: Patriots Day
Apr 28, 2014 Simon Catterall (Syracuse) :?: ? smc [at] physics.syr.edu
May 5, 2014 Phiala Shanahan () :?: ? [at]
May 12, 2014 Mark Vogelsberger (MIT) :?: ? mvogelsb@mit.edu

Fall 2013

Organizing Committee: Andrew Larkoski, Duff Neill, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Sep 9, 2013 Tracy Slatyer (MIT) :?: Jesse tslatyer [at] mit.edu
Sep 16, 2013 Gordan Krnjaic (Perimeter) :?: :?: Tracy gkrnjaic [at] perimeterinstitute.ca
Sep 23, 2013 Marcus Spradlin (Brown) :?: Duff Marcus_Spradlin [at] brown.edu
Sep 30, 2013 Tim Cohen (SLAC) :?: Matthew timcohen [at] slac.stanford.edu
Oct 7, 2013 Neil Weiner (NYU) :?: Tracy neal.weiner [at] nyu.edu
Oct 14, 2013 :!: Columbus Day
Oct 21, 2013 David B. Kaplan (Washington INT) :?: Will dbkaplan [at] phys.washington.edu
Oct 28, 2013 Chris Brust (JHU) :?: Jesse cbrust [at] pha.jhu.edu
Nov 4, 2013 Peter Graham (Stanford) :?: Matthew pwgraham [at] stanford.edu
Nov 11, 2013 :!: Veterans Day
Nov 18, 2013 Wilke van der Schee (Utrecht) :?: Krishna W.vanderSchee [at] uu.nl
Nov 25, 2013 Andre Hoang (Vienna) :?: Iain andre.hoang [at] univie.ac.at
Dec 2, 2013 Ted Rogers (Stony Brook) :?: :?: Will ted.rogers [at] stonybrook.edu
Dec 9, 2013 Spencer Chang (U Oregon) :?: Jesse chang2 [at] uoregon.edu

Spring 2013

Organizing Committee: Andrew Larkoski, Duff Neill, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 11, 2013 Brock Tweedie (BU) :?: Matthew btweedie@bu.edu
Feb 18, 2013 :!: Presidents Day
(Tues) Feb 19, 2013 Ethan Niel (Fermilab) :?: Will eneil@fnal.gov
Feb 25, 2013 David Curtin (Stony Brook) :?: Matthew david.r.curtin@gmail.com
Mar 4, 2013 Kohsaku Tobioka (IPMU Tokyo/Berkeley) :?: Matthew kohsaku.t@gmail.com
Mar 11, 2013 Vicent Mateu (Valencia) :?: Iain mateu@mit.edu
Mar 18, 2013 Daniel Grumiller (Vienna) :?: Roman daniel.grumiller@gmail.com
Mar 25, 2013 :!: Spring Break
Apr 1, 2013 Michael Dine (UCSC) :?: Jesse/Matthew mdine at ucsc.edu
Apr 8, 2013 Uwe-Jens Wiese (Bern/MIT) :?: :?: wiese@itp.unibe.ch
Apr 15, 2013 :!: Patriots Day
Apr 22, 2013 Jacob Bourjailly (Harvard) :?: Jesse/Matthew jbourj@gmail.com
Apr 29, 2013 Joaquin Drut (University of North Carolina) :?: Will joaquindrut@gmail.com
May 6, 2013 Matt Reece (Harvard) :?: Jesse and Matthew mreece@physics.harvard.edu
May 13, 2013 Josh Powell (Duke) :?: Will jwpowell@gmail.com

Fall 2012

Organizing Committee: Vicent Mateu, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Sept 3, 2012 :!: Labor Day
Sept 10, 2012 Jiannis Pachos (Leeds) :?: Roman J.K.Pachos AT leeds.ac.uk
Sept 17, 2012 Wouter Waalewijn (UCSD) :?: Iain wouterw AT physics.ucsd.edu
Sept 24, 2012 Mark Hertzberg (MIT) :?: Jesse mphertz AT stanford.edu
Oct 1, 2012 David Kosower (CEA) :?: Dan david.kosower AT cea.fr
Oct 8, 2012 :!: Columbus Day
Oct 15, 2012 Rafael Porto (IAS) :?: Iain rporto AT ias.edu
Oct 22, 2012 Jonathan Walsh (Berkeley) :?: Iain jwalsh AT lbl.gov
Oct 29, 2012 Philip Schuster (Perimeter) :?: Jesse pschuster AT perimeterinstitute.ca
Nov 5, 2012 Tom Blum (Connecticut) :?: William tblum AT phys.uconn.edu
Nov 12, 2012 :!: Veterans Day
Nov 19, 2012 Rich Brower (BU) :?: Will brower AT bu.edu
Nov 26, 2012 Stefania Gori (Chicago) :?: Vicent goris AT uchicago.edu
Dec 3, 2012 Meng Su (MIT) :?: Matthew mengsu@mit.edu
Dec 10, 2012 Liam Fitzpatrick (Stanford) :?: Matthew andrew.liam.fitz AT gmail.com

Spring 2012

Organizing Committee: Roman Jackiw, Vicent Mateu, Keith Rehermann, Iain Stewart, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 13, 2012 Faculty Search :?:
Feb 20, 2012 :!: President's Day
Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 Faculty Search (Monday Schedule) :?:
Feb 27, 2012 Faculty Search :?:
Mar 5, 2012 Alessandro Vicchi :?:
Mar 12, 2012 David Krohn Qjets
Mar 19, 2012 Ambar Jain :?:
Mar 26, 2012 :!: Spring Break
Apr 2, 2012 Jeremy Mardon (Stanford) :?: Matthew jeremy.mardon AT gmail.com
Apr 9, 2012 Gordon Semenoff (UBC) :?: Roman gordonws AT phas.ubc.ca
Apr 16, 2012 :!: Patriot's Day
Apr 23, 2012 Monika Blanke :?: Iain monika.blanke@gmx.net
Apr 30, 2012 Hannah Petersen :?: Krishna hp52 AT phy.duke.edu
May 7, 2012 Rich Brower or Lisa Randall :?:
May 14, 2012 Tom Cohen (Maryland) :?: Krishna cohen AT umd.edu

Fall 2011

Organizing Committee: Roman Jackiw, Vicent Mateu, Keith Rehermann, Iain Stewart, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Sept 12, 2011 Mariangela Lisanti (Princeton) :?: Keith mlisanti AT princeton.edu
Sept 19, 2011 Ira Rothstein (CMU) :?: Iain izr AT andrew.cmu.edu
Sept 26, 2011 Antonello Scardicchio (ICTP) :?: Bob ascardic AT ictp.it
Oct 3, 2011 Gonzalo Torroba (Stanford) :?: Keith torrobag AT slac.stanford.edu
Oct 10, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Columbus Day)
Oct 17, 2011 :!: DOE visit, NO seminar
Oct 24, 2011 Matthew McCullough :?: Keith mccull AT thphys.ox.ac.uk>
Oct 31, 2011 Giorgio Torrieri (Columbia) :?: Krishna lunogled@gmail.com
Nov 7, 2011 Ben Grinstein (UCSD) :?: Iain bgrinstein AT ucsd.edu
TUESDAY Nov 8, 2011 @ 2:30pm :!: Special Day :!: Michael Trott (CERN) :?: Iain/Jesse mtrott@perimeterinstitute.ca
TUESDAY Nov 15, 2011 @ 4pm :!: Special Day :!: Joachim Kopp (Fermilab) Keith/Jesse jkopp@fnal.gov
Nov 21, 2011 Duff Neill (CMU) :?: Vicent/Iain dneill AT andrew.cmu.edu
Nov 28, 2011 Nicholas Dunn (Berkeley) :?: Vicent/Iain ndunn AT berkeley.edu
Dec 5, 2011 Eder Izaguirre (Stanford) :?: Jesse eder AT stanford.edu
Dec 12, 2011 Reserved

Spring 2011

Info

All seminars take place in the CTP seminar room Mondays at 2:00 pm. In special cases, some seminars may also be held on Tuesdays at 2:00pm or 4:00pm.

Organizing Committee: Jesse Thaler, Frank Tackmann (?), Keith Rehermann (?), Frank Wilzcek (?), Roman Jackiw

Speaker Title Contact Email
Feb 7, 2011 Keith Rehermann (MIT) Jesse
Feb 14, 2011 Martin Zwierlein (MIT) Yusuke
Feb 21, 2011 :!: No Seminar (President's Day)
(Tues) Feb 22, 2011 Asimina Arvanitaki (Berkeley) Barton
Feb 28, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Special Day)
(Tues) Mar 1, 2011 Rouven Essig (SLAC) Barton
Mar 7, 2011 Clifford Cheung (Berkeley) Barton
Mar 14, 2011 Matthew Reece (Princeton) Barton
Mar 21, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Spring Break)
Mar 28, 2011 Vincenzo Cirigliano (LANL) Chris cirigliano@lanl.gov
Apr 4, 2011 Maxim Perelstein (Cornell) Jesse mp325@cornell.edu
Apr 11, 2011 Graham Kribs (Oregon) Jesse kribs@uoregon.edu
Apr 18, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Patriot's Day)
Apr 25, 2011 Kathryn Zurek (Michigan) Jesse kzurek@umich.edu
May 2, 2011 Rajan Gupta (LANL) Brian rg@lanl.gov
May 9, 2011 Bjoern Schenke (Brookhaven) Krishna bschenke@quark.phy.bnl.gov

Open Invitations

Fall 2010

Info

All seminars take place in the CTP seminar room Mondays at 2:00 pm. In special cases, some seminars may also be held on Tuesdays at 2:00pm or 4:00pm.

Organizing Committee: Jesse Thaler, Frank Tackmann (?), Keith Rehermann (?), Frank Wilzcek (?), Roman Jackiw

Calendar

Speaker Title Contact Email
Sept 6, 2010 :!: No Seminar (Labor Day)
Sept 13, 2010 Barbara Betz (Columbia) Conical Correlations in Heavy-Ion Collisions Krishna betz@phys.columbia.edu
Sept 20, 2010 C. P. Yuan (Michigan State) Precision Measurements at Hardon Colliders Jesse yuan@pa.msu.edu
Sept 27, 2010 Brian Tiburzi (MIT) Electromagnetic Polarizabilities: Unmasking Chiral Dynamics from Lattice QCD John
Oct 4, 2010 Randall Kelley (Harvard) Hadronic Event Shapes using Effective Field Theory Tackmann rkelley@physics.harvard.edu
Oct 11, 2010 :!: No Seminar (Columbus Day)
Oct 18, 2010 Markus Luty (UC Davis) Flavor in Conformal Technicolor Jesse luty@physics.ucdavis.edu
Oct 25, 2010 Mikhail Shifman (Minnesota) Understanding confinement through supersymmetry (Non-Abelian heterotic strings) Jesse shifman@umn.edu
Nov 1, 2010 Simon Caron-Huot (IAS) New recursion relations for loop amplitudes Paul schuot@ias.edu
Nov 8, 2010 Daniel Green (IAS) Direct Gaugino Mediation Mulligan drgreen@ias.edu
Nov 15, 2010 Takemichi Okui (FSU) Viable Gravity Mediation Jesse okui@hep.fsu.edu
Nov 22, 2010 Jiannis Pachos (Leeds) Cold Atom simulations of Quantum Field Theories Roman J.K.Pachos@leeds.ac.uk
Nov 29, 2010 Daniel Kabat (CUNY) :?: Bob daniel.kabat@lehman.cuny.edu
Dec 6, 2010 Csaba Csaki (Cornell) :?: Jesse csaki@cornell.edu
Dec 13, 2010 :?: Final Exam Week, Seminar?

Past Joint Particle/Nuclear Seminars

np_seminar.txt · Last modified: 2016/08/10 21:12 by jthaler