MIT/CTP Nuclear/Particle Seminar

Spring 2014

Organizing Committee: Andrew Larkoski, Duff Neill, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 10, 2013 Jean-Yves Ollitrault (Saclay) Large Anisotropies in the Little Bang ? jean-yves.ollitrault [at] cea.fr
Feb 17, 2013 :!: Presidents Day
(Tues) Feb 18, 2013 Grigory Ovanesyan (UMass) :?: ? ovanesyan [at] umass.edu
Feb 24, 2013 Jonathan Walsh (Berkeley) :?: ? jwalsh [at] lbl.gov
Mar 3, 2013 Alberto Nicolis (Columbia) :?: ? a.nicolis [at] columbia.edu
Mar 10, 2013 Matt Strassler (Harvard) :?: ? strassler [at] physics.harvard.edu
Mar 17, 2013 Liam Fitzpatrick (Stanford) :?: ? fitzpatr [at] stanford.edu
Mar 24, 2013 :!: Spring Break
Mar 31, 2013 ? (?) :?: ? ?
Apr 7, 2013 Aneesh Manohar (UCSD) :?: ? amanohar [at] physics.ucsd.edu
Apr 14, 2013 David Simmons-Duffin (IAS) :?: ? dsd [at] ias.edu
Apr 21, 2013 :!: Patriots Day
Apr 28, 2013 Simon Catterall (Syracuse) :?: ? smc [at] physics.syr.edu
May 5, 2013 Phiala Shanahan () :?: ? [at]
May 12, 2013 Mark Vogelsberger (MIT) :?: ? mvogelsb@mit.edu

Invites

Suggestions

  • Simona Murgia (Tracy priority)
  • Anson Hook (self recommended)

Punt to Fall Semester

  • Nathaniel Craig (high priority)
  • Frank Petriello (Push for LNS colloquium)
  • Tigran Kalaydzhyan (ask Krishna)
  • Francesco D'Eramo (wait on paper)
  • Vikram Rentala
  • Yonit Hochberg (wait on paper)
  • Alexander Zhiboedov (ask Duff, wait on Pappalardo)
  • Sergei Dubovsky
  • Ruth van de Water
  • Patrick Meade
  • Josh Ruderman

Fall 2013

Organizing Committee: Andrew Larkoski, Duff Neill, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Sep 9, 2013 Tracy Slatyer (MIT) :?: Jesse tslatyer [at] mit.edu
Sep 16, 2013 Gordan Krnjaic (Perimeter) :?: :?: Tracy gkrnjaic [at] perimeterinstitute.ca
Sep 23, 2013 Marcus Spradlin (Brown) :?: Duff Marcus_Spradlin [at] brown.edu
Sep 30, 2013 Tim Cohen (SLAC) :?: Matthew timcohen [at] slac.stanford.edu
Oct 7, 2013 Neil Weiner (NYU) :?: Tracy neal.weiner [at] nyu.edu
Oct 14, 2013 :!: Columbus Day
Oct 21, 2013 David B. Kaplan (Washington INT) :?: Will dbkaplan [at] phys.washington.edu
Oct 28, 2013 Chris Brust (JHU) :?: Jesse cbrust [at] pha.jhu.edu
Nov 4, 2013 Peter Graham (Stanford) :?: Matthew pwgraham [at] stanford.edu
Nov 11, 2013 :!: Veterans Day
Nov 18, 2013 Wilke van der Schee (Utrecht) :?: Krishna W.vanderSchee [at] uu.nl
Nov 25, 2013 Andre Hoang (Vienna) :?: Iain andre.hoang [at] univie.ac.at
Dec 2, 2013 Ted Rogers (Stony Brook) :?: :?: Will ted.rogers [at] stonybrook.edu
Dec 9, 2013 Spencer Chang (U Oregon) :?: Jesse chang2 [at] uoregon.edu

Local Speakers

  • Andrew Larkoski
  • Lisa Randall (?)

New Names

  • Jameson Galloway
  • Aneesh Manohar
  • Lance Dixon
  • John Terning
  • Anson Hook
  • Gregory Ovanesyan
  • Song He
  • Scott Thomas
  • Aaron Pierce (?)
  • Marc Kamionkowski coauthors
  • Gia Dvali (if in NY)
  • Jessie Shelton
  • Sean Fleming
  • Patrick Meade
  • Andreas Schmitt (suggested by Krishna)
  • Leonardo Rastelli (suggested by Dan Freedman)
  • Sean Hartnoll (suggested by Dan Freedman)
  • Shamit Kachru (suggested by Dan Freedman)
  • Radu Roiban on calculating correlation functions from generalized unitarity (arXiv:1209.0227)

Spring 2013

Organizing Committee: Andrew Larkoski, Duff Neill, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 11, 2013 Brock Tweedie (BU) :?: Matthew btweedie@bu.edu
Feb 18, 2013 :!: Presidents Day
(Tues) Feb 19, 2013 Ethan Niel (Fermilab) :?: Will eneil@fnal.gov
Feb 25, 2013 David Curtin (Stony Brook) :?: Matthew david.r.curtin@gmail.com
Mar 4, 2013 Kohsaku Tobioka (IPMU Tokyo/Berkeley) :?: Matthew kohsaku.t@gmail.com
Mar 11, 2013 Vicent Mateu (Valencia) :?: Iain mateu@mit.edu
Mar 18, 2013 Daniel Grumiller (Vienna) :?: Roman daniel.grumiller@gmail.com
Mar 25, 2013 :!: Spring Break
Apr 1, 2013 Michael Dine (UCSC) :?: Jesse/Matthew mdine at ucsc.edu
Apr 8, 2013 Uwe-Jens Wiese (Bern/MIT) :?: :?: wiese@itp.unibe.ch
Apr 15, 2013 :!: Patriots Day
Apr 22, 2013 Jacob Bourjailly (Harvard) :?: Jesse/Matthew jbourj@gmail.com
Apr 29, 2013 Joaquin Drut (University of North Carolina) :?: Will joaquindrut@gmail.com
May 6, 2013 Matt Reece (Harvard) :?: Jesse and Matthew mreece@physics.harvard.edu
May 13, 2013 Josh Powell (Duke) :?: Will jwpowell@gmail.com

Waiting for Response

  • Neil Weiner
  • Spencer Chang (Higgs or DM)

Local Speakers (invite later)

  • Matt Reece (!)
  • Andrew Larkoski (scale invariance of jets)
  • Duff Neill
  • Stefan Meinel
  • Amplitudes person

Lattice Ideas

  • Dean Lee (NC state) talking about the Hoyle state in carbon from lattice EFT.
  • Thomas Schaefer (also NC state) 1212.1238 or anything else
  • Sanjay Reddy (INT, UW): neutron star crusts and cooling
  • Jo Dudek (JLab): QCD spectroscopy (was scheduled to git LNS colloquium, cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy)
  • Carleton Detar (Utah): nonzero T QCD
  • Ethan Niel (FNAL): lattice flavour physics or strong dynamics
  • Chris Bouchard (OSU): B-Bbar mixing matrix elemetns
  • Anyi Li (UW) Sign problems in various field theories and their solutions.
  • Also some locals:
  • Michael Cheng (BU)
  • Oliver Witzel (BU)

New Names

  • Tim Cohen

Carryover Names

  • Patrick Meade/David Curtin: Charginos in Plain Sight
  • Higgs Papers: Kfir Blum, Jiji Fan, Ian Low, Joseph Lykken, Gabe Shaughnessy
  • 130 GeV papers: Stefano Profumo, Timothy Cohen, Jay Wacker
  • Gia Dvali (Vicent, probably on Wednesday)
  • (Krishna suggestion) Ho-Ung Yee (SUNY Stony Brook) hyee AT tonic.physics.sunysb.edu
  • Postdoc of Andre or Gavin
  • Edward Shuryak or Derek Teaney (ask Krishna)
  • Brian Battell (ask Jesse)
  • Brando Bellazini or Jing Shao (Goldstone Fermion DM)
  • Simone Marzani (postdoc of Mike Seymour, Manchester, expensive)
  • Aleksey Cherman (ask Krishna, but Krishna is on sabbatical)
  • MIT people:
  • Mark Mueller (MIT, dark matter and dark energy from a scalar model, friday lunch club, ask Eddie)
  • Matt Buckley
  • Jessie Shelton
  • Yang Bai
  • Greg Ovanesyan (ask Krishna)
  • Misha Stephanov (ask Krishna)

Previous Semesters

Fall 2012

Organizing Committee: Vicent Mateu, Matthew McCullough, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Sept 3, 2012 :!: Labor Day
Sept 10, 2012 Jiannis Pachos (Leeds) :?: Roman J.K.Pachos AT leeds.ac.uk
Sept 17, 2012 Wouter Waalewijn (UCSD) :?: Iain wouterw AT physics.ucsd.edu
Sept 24, 2012 Mark Hertzberg (MIT) :?: Jesse mphertz AT stanford.edu
Oct 1, 2012 David Kosower (CEA) :?: Dan david.kosower AT cea.fr
Oct 8, 2012 :!: Columbus Day
Oct 15, 2012 Rafael Porto (IAS) :?: Iain rporto AT ias.edu
Oct 22, 2012 Jonathan Walsh (Berkeley) :?: Iain jwalsh AT lbl.gov
Oct 29, 2012 Philip Schuster (Perimeter) :?: Jesse pschuster AT perimeterinstitute.ca
Nov 5, 2012 Tom Blum (Connecticut) :?: William tblum AT phys.uconn.edu
Nov 12, 2012 :!: Veterans Day
Nov 19, 2012 Rich Brower (BU) :?: Will brower AT bu.edu
Nov 26, 2012 Stefania Gori (Chicago) :?: Vicent goris AT uchicago.edu
Dec 3, 2012 Meng Su (MIT) :?: Matthew mengsu@mit.edu
Dec 10, 2012 Liam Fitzpatrick (Stanford) :?: Matthew andrew.liam.fitz AT gmail.com

Spring 2012

Organizing Committee: Roman Jackiw, Vicent Mateu, Keith Rehermann, Iain Stewart, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Feb 13, 2012 Faculty Search :?:
Feb 20, 2012 :!: President's Day
Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 Faculty Search (Monday Schedule) :?:
Feb 27, 2012 Faculty Search :?:
Mar 5, 2012 Alessandro Vicchi :?:
Mar 12, 2012 David Krohn Qjets
Mar 19, 2012 Ambar Jain :?:
Mar 26, 2012 :!: Spring Break
Apr 2, 2012 Jeremy Mardon (Stanford) :?: Matthew jeremy.mardon AT gmail.com
Apr 9, 2012 Gordon Semenoff (UBC) :?: Roman gordonws AT phas.ubc.ca
Apr 16, 2012 :!: Patriot's Day
Apr 23, 2012 Monika Blanke :?: Iain monika.blanke@gmx.net
Apr 30, 2012 Hannah Petersen :?: Krishna hp52 AT phy.duke.edu
May 7, 2012 Rich Brower or Lisa Randall :?:
May 14, 2012 Tom Cohen (Maryland) :?: Krishna cohen AT umd.edu

Fall 2011

Organizing Committee: Roman Jackiw, Vicent Mateu, Keith Rehermann, Iain Stewart, Jesse Thaler

Speaker Title Host Email
Sept 12, 2011 Mariangela Lisanti (Princeton) :?: Keith mlisanti AT princeton.edu
Sept 19, 2011 Ira Rothstein (CMU) :?: Iain izr AT andrew.cmu.edu
Sept 26, 2011 Antonello Scardicchio (ICTP) :?: Bob ascardic AT ictp.it
Oct 3, 2011 Gonzalo Torroba (Stanford) :?: Keith torrobag AT slac.stanford.edu
Oct 10, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Columbus Day)
Oct 17, 2011 :!: DOE visit, NO seminar
Oct 24, 2011 Matthew McCullough :?: Keith mccull AT thphys.ox.ac.uk>
Oct 31, 2011 Giorgio Torrieri (Columbia) :?: Krishna lunogled@gmail.com
Nov 7, 2011 Ben Grinstein (UCSD) :?: Iain bgrinstein AT ucsd.edu
TUESDAY Nov 8, 2011 @ 2:30pm :!: Special Day :!: Michael Trott (CERN) :?: Iain/Jesse mtrott@perimeterinstitute.ca
TUESDAY Nov 15, 2011 @ 4pm :!: Special Day :!: Joachim Kopp (Fermilab) Keith/Jesse jkopp@fnal.gov
Nov 21, 2011 Duff Neill (CMU) :?: Vicent/Iain dneill AT andrew.cmu.edu
Nov 28, 2011 Nicholas Dunn (Berkeley) :?: Vicent/Iain ndunn AT berkeley.edu
Dec 5, 2011 Eder Izaguirre (Stanford) :?: Jesse eder AT stanford.edu
Dec 12, 2011 Reserved

Spring 2011

Info

All seminars take place in the CTP seminar room Mondays at 2:00 pm. In special cases, some seminars may also be held on Tuesdays at 2:00pm or 4:00pm.

Organizing Committee: Jesse Thaler, Frank Tackmann (?), Keith Rehermann (?), Frank Wilzcek (?), Roman Jackiw

Speaker Title Contact Email
Feb 7, 2011 Keith Rehermann (MIT) Jesse
Feb 14, 2011 Martin Zwierlein (MIT) Yusuke
Feb 21, 2011 :!: No Seminar (President's Day)
(Tues) Feb 22, 2011 Asimina Arvanitaki (Berkeley) Barton
Feb 28, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Special Day)
(Tues) Mar 1, 2011 Rouven Essig (SLAC) Barton
Mar 7, 2011 Clifford Cheung (Berkeley) Barton
Mar 14, 2011 Matthew Reece (Princeton) Barton
Mar 21, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Spring Break)
Mar 28, 2011 Vincenzo Cirigliano (LANL) Chris cirigliano@lanl.gov
Apr 4, 2011 Maxim Perelstein (Cornell) Jesse mp325@cornell.edu
Apr 11, 2011 Graham Kribs (Oregon) Jesse kribs@uoregon.edu
Apr 18, 2011 :!: No Seminar (Patriot's Day)
Apr 25, 2011 Kathryn Zurek (Michigan) Jesse kzurek@umich.edu
May 2, 2011 Rajan Gupta (LANL) Brian rg@lanl.gov
May 9, 2011 Bjoern Schenke (Brookhaven) Krishna bschenke@quark.phy.bnl.gov

Open Invitations

Fall 2010

Info

All seminars take place in the CTP seminar room Mondays at 2:00 pm. In special cases, some seminars may also be held on Tuesdays at 2:00pm or 4:00pm.

Organizing Committee: Jesse Thaler, Frank Tackmann (?), Keith Rehermann (?), Frank Wilzcek (?), Roman Jackiw

Calendar

Speaker Title Contact Email
Sept 6, 2010 :!: No Seminar (Labor Day)
Sept 13, 2010 Barbara Betz (Columbia) Conical Correlations in Heavy-Ion Collisions Krishna betz@phys.columbia.edu
Sept 20, 2010 C. P. Yuan (Michigan State) Precision Measurements at Hardon Colliders Jesse yuan@pa.msu.edu
Sept 27, 2010 Brian Tiburzi (MIT) Electromagnetic Polarizabilities: Unmasking Chiral Dynamics from Lattice QCD John
Oct 4, 2010 Randall Kelley (Harvard) Hadronic Event Shapes using Effective Field Theory Tackmann rkelley@physics.harvard.edu
Oct 11, 2010 :!: No Seminar (Columbus Day)
Oct 18, 2010 Markus Luty (UC Davis) Flavor in Conformal Technicolor Jesse luty@physics.ucdavis.edu
Oct 25, 2010 Mikhail Shifman (Minnesota) Understanding confinement through supersymmetry (Non-Abelian heterotic strings) Jesse shifman@umn.edu
Nov 1, 2010 Simon Caron-Huot (IAS) New recursion relations for loop amplitudes Paul schuot@ias.edu
Nov 8, 2010 Daniel Green (IAS) Direct Gaugino Mediation Mulligan drgreen@ias.edu
Nov 15, 2010 Takemichi Okui (FSU) Viable Gravity Mediation Jesse okui@hep.fsu.edu
Nov 22, 2010 Jiannis Pachos (Leeds) Cold Atom simulations of Quantum Field Theories Roman J.K.Pachos@leeds.ac.uk
Nov 29, 2010 Daniel Kabat (CUNY) :?: Bob daniel.kabat@lehman.cuny.edu
Dec 6, 2010 Csaba Csaki (Cornell) :?: Jesse csaki@cornell.edu
Dec 13, 2010 :?: Final Exam Week, Seminar?

Outstanding Invitations

  • Open invitation to Jorge Casalderrey-Solana (ask Krishna)

Past Joint Particle/Nuclear Seminars

np_seminar.txt · Last modified: 2014/04/19 23:11 by jthaler